The Purpose of Words

“I think, therefore I am” — Descartes

William Ballard, MBA
6 min readDec 23, 2023

--

What is the purpose of words?

Some might say the purpose of words is to be able to communicate, and although words are used to communicate, that is not their sole purpose.

Did you know that words are condensed thoughts (and oftentimes contain multiple meanings)?

In this article, I’m going to share with you three “purposes of words” which will be presented in a way you probably never thought of or considered.

The purpose of words is for …

Effective Communication

Now, I talked a little bit about this in my last article, but I will reiterate some of what I said there, here.

You see, to be an effective communicator you have to be able to know how to use words to be descriptive, or how to illustrate your main points, as well as to motivate readers to continue reading.

As a writer, you need to be able to use the written word to communicate concisely and clearly, and always remembering that communication is all about making sense … and as a writer, making sense makes dollars.

In other words, being a writer doesn’t give you the right to think of yourself more highly than you ought to think. It doesn’t mean you…

--

--

William Ballard, MBA

Business coach, marketing consultant, and creative entrepreneur. I help writers get their work noticed and get paid what they are worth: https://bit.ly/3M9ztvm